The Slurpee Chronicles

Movie news… from A to Z

My 2011 Oscar Picks

For the first time ever, I saw all 10 movies nominated for Best Picture.  My favorite was Inception, but I don’t think the critics enjoyed it as much as I did.  Here are my Oscar picks for a few of the categories.  Do you agree with me?  Who knows, The Social Network could be that movie that blows all the others away and that ends up winning every category it’s in (but I sure hope not).

  • Actor in a Leading Role: Colin Firth – The King’s Speech
  • Actress in a Leading Role: Natalie Portman – Black Swan
  • Actor in a Supporting Role: Christian Bale – The Fighter (I also loved Geoffrey Rush in The King’s Speech, but I thought Christian Bale’s role was more of a stretch.)
  • Actress in a Supporting Role: Melissa Leo – The Fighter
  • Best Picture: The King’s Speech
  • Directing: Tom Hooper – The King’s Speech
  • Animated Feature Film: Toy Story 3
  • Cinematography: Inception
  • Documentary (Feature): Exit through the Gift Shop
  • Music (Original Score): The Social Network – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Inception – Hans Zimmer was my favorite, but I think Social Network will win.)
  • Visual Effects: Inception

The Academy Awards ceremony is coming on in a couple of hours, so I can see how accurate my guesses were.

 

February 27, 2011 - Posted by | Academy Awards / Oscars | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment